William The Coroner’s Forensic Files

Tuesday, 16, November, 2010

Condescension

It is funny, I have become much more aware of freedoms, as I get more and more interested in second amendment issues and other civil rights. Human rights, not to put too fine a point on it. As I have become more aware, I have become more sensitive to the glee in which humans like to tell other humans what to do. I find it very grating now, and it shows up in unexpected places.

I was listening to Lynne Rosetto Kasper’s Splendid Table the other day. Now, I like food, and I like to eat food, and I like learning about food. I’ve gotten some very good ideas from Lynne. But she casually mentioned San Francisco’s ban on McDonald’s Happy Meals, and that some people thought this was an infringement on the people’s right to choose. (Not to mention doesn’t the City Council have better things to do with it’s time than being a nanny to the people of San Francisco?). But Ms. Kasper mentioned that a lot of these McDonald’s restaurants were in poor areas, and didn’t the poor have a right to be protected?

Protected? The implication that the poor were stupid, and dumb, and needed wiser heads to help them make better choices was just glaring. I’m a college professor and a supposedly educated man, yet I know I do plenty of bone-headed things over the course of a day. But I would take great umbrage at being told I have a right to be protected. Children and the feeble-minded have the right to be protected. Adults have the responsibility to make their own choices, for good or for ill.

In that one sentence, Ms. Kasper, showed her education, her elitism, and her scorn, and that has left a bad taste in my mouth. It is true that there are some hobbies that are more typical of the upper classes than the working classes. Usually the distinguishing factors are money and time. Polo is different from stock car racing. No doubt about that. To say that one is morally superior than the other, well, that is snobbery.

The thing is, Ms. Kasper seems like a lot of fun. I’ll be she’s a nice person and fun to be around. It’s much more disturbing to see unconscious meanness, because it makes you wonder about yourself.

2 Comments »

  1. Well… Presumably since they’re Happy Meals, she is talking about protecting children. The creepy part of the statement is that what she thinks poor children need to be protected from is their parents bad decisions.

    I’m not sure why everyone is making the McDonalds thing into a class issue. There are plenty of fat rich kids too. Yeah, I get that obesity is rising faster in poor areas. Just not sure why anyone thinks banning toys for one of the “bad” foods is going to make any difference. I think the whole thing is stupid. I wonder if they will also make McDonalds tear down their play areas?

    Comment by Meagan — Tuesday, 16, November, 2010 @ 16:55 | Reply

  2. Good point William!

    Comment by Old NFO — Tuesday, 16, November, 2010 @ 21:30 | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

