William The Coroner’s Forensic Files

Wednesday, 27, October, 2010

Aw, Crap

Filed under: Forensics,Teaching — williamthecoroner @ 14:36

So, today, I took my class to the FBI lab to get a tour of the building and meet with the evidence response team. Unfortunately, the evidence response team was out in the field, responding to some evidence. I thought at least it was a beautiful day, much better than yesterday, let’s go meet them and see them at work. Yeah. Wasn’t going to happen.

And then, for the first time as a member I had dinner at my club. The speaker that evening was going to talk about the 2012 Mayan calendar nonsense. I thought that it would be like my old club, where you sign the bill with your membership number and then pay the bill. No–you buy dinner tickets in advance. No one told me this, which was quite embarrassing. It was even more embarrassing when I didn’t have any money on me. It worked out, but what a way to end the day.

At least the talk was interesting. There is a pan-Mayan movement, now, which has gotten together and is learning from the archaeologists. People are learning to read and write Mayan hieroglyphics again, and there’s actual Mayan pride and they are working to get a better deal in Mexico.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

