William The Coroner’s Forensic Files

Thursday, 16, September, 2010

Dead Projects

Filed under: Science,Self mockery,Teaching — williamthecoroner @ 21:56

I have several projects that I have been working on for some time.  I managed to get one paper in press, and I hope it is published in the orange journal soon.  I have another that I’ve been working with a toxicologist on–my part is done, and if the other bit doesn’t get done shortly, I’m just going to publish what I have.  There comes a time when one has to get things moving.

I was working on a cross-disciplinary teaching project with two collaborators from another school.  I have piles of the raw data sitting around–in several places that are just waiting to be analyzed.  I realized, though, that I have not spoken to my collaborators in this calendar year, I think one of them is at another institution, and no one returns my emails anymore. I think this project is DOA. My time would be much better spent on getting other projects published, perhaps ones with collaborators who actually talk with me on a daily basis.

This realization was profoundly liberating.  My office will also look a whole lot neater, now.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

