William The Coroner’s Forensic Files

Sunday, 20, June, 2010

Miss Saigon

Filed under: Boomstick — williamthecoroner @ 10:49

I went to see Miss Saigon at the Pittsburgh CLO yesterday. My cousin was in it, and we needed to deliver his car to him, and it’s always nice to see him on stage–I don’t too much, he usually work in Manhattan or L.A. He also has tremendous stage presence.

As an old theater tech guy from way back–I tend to get a little distracted, I don’t notice the spectacle so much as “OK, How did they do that?” or “Is the helicopter made out of styrofoam” (It was plywood, BTW). I did also wonder why the NVA were carrying the same M-16s as the US Marines were. Probably because the prop guys only bought one set of long arms. I realize, I’m the only one that would notice this stuff.

I’d never seen the show before, and I had no idea of the plot, though I was aware it was a modernization of M Butterfly. The ending was emotional, and made me forget all about the technical stuff.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

