William The Coroner’s Forensic Files

Thursday, 20, May, 2010

Draw Mohammed Day

Filed under: People who need pianos dropped on them,Politics — williamthecoroner @ 10:21

Look–I’m down with iconoclasm, I can see where artists might wish to avoid depicting the human form following the theory that man was made in the image of the divine, and one wishes to avoid the depicting the divine because people might worship the image instead of the divine itself. This whole point seems a trifle silly with the advent of photographic technology, and downright ludicrous with the invention of movies and TV–if in 2010, one cannot tell the difference between an image and the real thing, there’s a major problem. Indeed some of the repeating patterns that are seen are really quite attractive. I can see parallels on the decoration of the Taj Mahal with Celtic decorations–again, the repeating patterns.

I do not wish to have the rules of a religion that I do not follow imposed on me, and in return I will not attempt to oppose the rules of my religion upon you. Got it? And any person who uses religion as an excuse for bigotry, violence, and intimidation is looking for something to take offense at…. feel free to write my name on your list, for I am your enemy. More here.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

