William The Coroner’s Forensic Files

Sunday, 31, May, 2009

When It Comes Together

Filed under: Garden — williamthecoroner @ 12:55

For years, I had one forlorn little milkweed plant near the back steps. They get kind of tall and leggy, and fall over if you don’t stake them. It produced about one pod per year. This year, happily I have half a dozen. I think they’re the common milkweed. Common milkweed They are all on the edge of the stone patio.
So, I’ve put in two monarda (bee balm)Monarda to keep them company, and sprinkled some of Burpee’s hummingbird and butterfly mix behind them, between the stone patio and the house.
If I’m lucky, I’ll get butterflies and hummingbirds. What I’ll probably get are bumbleBumbleBee-OnPavement and honeybees. honey-bee That’s fine. I rather like honey, and I’ve always thought it would be neat to have a bee hive. The problem is, of course, that I find working with buzzing, stinging insects to be very aversive. I like the concept of owning beehives. The actualality of owning one, not so much.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

